# Government Gazette Staatskoerani

Vol. 476 Pretoria, 4 February 2005 No. 27252

## **CONTENTS · INHOUD**

No.

Page Gazette No. No.

### **GOVERNMENT NOTICE**

### Education, Department of

Government Notice

104 National Education Policy Act (27/1996): Appointment of members to serve on a Ministerial Committee responsible for the Implementation Readiness Assessment of the National Curriculum Statement: Grades 10–12 (General)......

27252

# GOVERNMENT NOTICE

### DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

No. 104

4 February 2005

NATIONAL EDUCATION POLICY ACT, 1996 (ACT NO. 27 OF 1996)

# APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO SERVE ON A MINISTERIAL COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE IMPLEMENTATION READINESS ASSESSMENT OF THE NATIONAL CURRICULUM STATEMENT GRADES 10-12 (GENERAL)

- 1. I Grace Naledi Mandisa Pandor Minister of Education, hereby in terms of Section 3(4)(d) of the National Education Policy Act, 1996 (Act No. 27 of 1996), relating to innovation, research and development in education, approved the establishment of an Implementation Readiness Committee with the aim of assessing the level of preparedness of the education system to implement the National Curriculum Statement Grades 10-12 (General) for implementation in Grade 10 in 2006.
- 2. The Committee will determine the following:
  - ➤ Whether the curriculum policy will be in place and in schools by 2006;
  - Whether teachers will be adequately prepared and ready for implementation;
  - ➤ Whether learning and teaching support materials (LTSM) will be ready and in place and in schools by 2006; and
  - > Whether there is enough communication with the different stakeholders (schools, parents, teachers and the public) on implementation.
- The Committee is expected to submit a Report in April 2005 on all aspects of implementation readiness.

4. The following members will serve on the Ministerial Committee for Implementation Readiness Assessment:

NAME	CONSTITUENCY
Prof. V. Wedekind	University of KwaZulu-Natal
Ms F. Dada (Chair)	Private Consultant
Ms C. S. Müller	National Professional Teachers'
	Organisation of South Africa
	(NAPTOSA)
Dr G. A. Niebuhr	Suid-Afrikaanse Onderwysersuni
	(SAOU)
Ms M. M. Mogari	South African Democratic Teachers'
	Union (SADTU) (SADTU)
Mr L. Pokpas	University of the Western Cape

Grace Naledi Mandisa Pandor, MP Minister of Education