

CONTENTS · INHOUD

No.

Page Gazette No. No.

GOVERNMENT NOTICE

Basic Education, Department of

Government Notice

 62 National Education Policy Act (27/1996): Publication of the names of members to serve on the committees to review the implementation of the National Curriculum Statement Grade R-12
 2
 32924

GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF BASIC EDUCATION

No. 62

3 February 2010

NATIONAL EDUCATION POLICY ACT, 1996 (ACT NO. 27 OF 1996)

PUBLICATION OF THE NAMES OF MEMBERS TO SERVE ON THE COMMITTEES TO REVIEW THE IMPLEMENTATION OF THE NATIONAL CURRICULUM STATEMENT GRADE R-12

- I, Angelina Matsie Motshekga, Minister of Basic Education, hereby, in terms of Section 3(4)(l) of the National Education Policy Act, 1996 (Act No. 27 of 1996), approve the publication of the names of the members of the:
 - (a) Committee for the Reduction of Learning Areas in the Intermediate Phase of the General Education and Training Band; and
 - (b) Learning and Teaching Support Material Committee.
- 2. The Committee for the Reduction of Learning Areas in the Intermediate Phase of the General Education and Training Band, and the Learning and Teaching Support Material Committee will assist the Ministerial Project Committee, promulgated in *Government Notice No. 1226* in *Government Gazette No. 32835* of 29 December 2009, with the development of a single, comprehensive, and concise National Curriculum and Assessment Policy document.

3. The following members will serve on the Committee for the Reduction of Learning Areas in the Intermediate Phase of the General Education and Training Band, and the Learning and Teaching Support Material Committee:

3.1 Committee for the Reduction of Learning Areas in the Intermediate Phase of the General Education and Training Band:

Name	Designation
Professor J. Volmink	Former member of the Ministerial Task Team (Chairperson)
Professor L Moletsane	Human Sciences Research Council
Ms F Dada	Independent Consultant
Mr R Somnath	Curriculum Expert – SADTU
Ms P Tloubatla	Gauteng Department of Education
Dr JA Myburgh	North West Department of Education
Mr V Makhubela	PJ Simelane Secondary School in Dobsonville
Ms M-L Samuels	Department of Basic Education
Dr HT Narsee	Department of Basic Education

3.2 Learning and Teaching Support Material Committee:

Name	Designation
Professor V Mckay	Department of Basic Education
Dr R Bridgemohan	KwaZulu-Natal Department of Education
Mr M Jacobs	Free State Department of Education
Dr NN Nduna-Watson	Department of Basic Education
Mr J Tsebe	National State Librarian
Mr G Rosenberg	Independent Consultant (Chairperson)
Ms N Hugo	READ Foundation
Ms D Botha	University of the Witwatersrand

AM MOTSHEKGA, MP MINISTER OF BASIC EDUCATION