

Government Gazette Staatskoerant

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA REPUBLIEK VAN SUID-AFRIKA

Vol. 591 Pretoria, 9 September 2014

No. 37988

N.B. The Government Printing Works will not be held responsible for the quality of "Hard Copies" or "Electronic Files" submitted for publication purposes







AIDS HELPLINE: 0800-0123-22 Prevention is the cure

IMPORTANT NOTICE

The Government Printing Works will not be held responsible for faxed documents not received due to errors on the fax machine or faxes received which are unclear or incomplete. Please be advised that an "OK" slip, received from a fax machine, will not be accepted as proof that documents were received by the GPW for printing. If documents are faxed to the GPW it will be the sender's responsibility to phone and confirm that the documents were received in good order.

Furthermore the Government Printing Works will also not be held responsible for cancellations and amendments which have not been done on original documents received from clients.

CONTENTS • INHOUD

No.

Page Gazette No. No.

GOVERNMENT NOTICE

Cooperative Governance, Department of

Government Notice

GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF COOPERATIVE GOVERNANCE

No. 712 9 September 2014

FORMULAE FOR DETERMINATION OF THE NUMBER OF COUNCILLORS OF MUNICIPAL COUNCILS

I, Pravin Jamnadas Gordhan, Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, in terms of section 20 of the Local Government: Municipal Structures Act, 1998 (Act No. 117 of 1998), hereby publish the formulae for the determination of the number of councillors. The formulae are set out in the Schedule herein.

Given under my hand at Pretoria on the Ninth day of September Two Thousand and Fourteen.

P J GORDHAN, MP

MINISTER OF COOPERATIVE GOVERNANCE AND TRADITIONAL AFFAIRS

SCHEDULE

- 1. Formula for determination of number of councillors for category A municipalities.
- 2. Formula for determination of number of councillors for category B municipalities.
- 3. Formula for determination of number of councillors for category C municipalities

Formula for determination of number of councillors for category A municipalities

1. The formula for determining the number of councillors of a category A municipality is as follows (fractions to be disregarded):

$$y = (x \div 10\ 000) + 50$$

Where -

- (i) y represents the number of councillors; and
- (ii) x represents the number of registered voters on the municipality's segment of the national common voters roll on 5 March 2014.

Formula for determination of number of councillors for category B municipalities

- 2.(a) The formula for determining the number of councillors of a category B municipality is
 - (i) in respect of such a municipality that has less than 7 501 registered voters on its segment of the national common voters roll:

$$y = 5;$$

(ii) in respect of such a municipality that has between 7 500 and 100 001 registered voters on its segment of the national common voters roll:

$$y = (x \div 2 \ 055) + 2$$
; and

(iii) in respect of such a municipality that has more than 100 000 registered voters on its segment of the national common voters roll:

$$y = (x \div 8 \ 333) + 48.$$

- (b) In applying the formulae referred to in paragraph (a)-
 - (i) y represents the number of councillors;
 - (ii) x represents the number of registered voters on the municipality's segment of the national common voters roll on 5 March 2014; and
 - (iii) fractions are to be disregarded.

Formula for determination of number of councillors for category C municipalities

- 3.(a) The formula for determining the number of councillors of a category C municipality is -
 - (i) in respect of such a municipality that has less than 100 001 registered voters on its segment of the national common voters roll:

$$y = (x \div 10\ 000) + 10$$
; and

(ii) in respect of such a municipality that has more than 100 000 registered voters on its segment of the national common voters roll:

$$y = (x \div 15\ 000) + 15.$$

- (b) In applying the formulae referred to in paragraph (a)
 - (i) y represents the number of councillors;
 - (ii) x represents the number of registered voters on the municipality's segment of the national common voters roll on 5 March 2014; and
 - (iii) fractions are to be disregarded.

NOTICE – CHANGE OF TELEPHONE NUMBERS: GOVERNMENT PRINTING WORKS

As the mandated government security printer, providing world class security products and services, Government Printing Works has adopted some of the highly innovative technologies to best serve its customers and stakeholders. In line with this task, Government Printing Works has implemented a new telephony system to ensure most effective communication and accessibility. As a result of this development, our telephone numbers will change with effect from 3 February 2014, starting with the Pretoria offices.

The new numbers are as follows:

Switchboard : 012 748 6001/6002

Advertising : 012 748 6205/6206/6207/6208/6209/6210/6211/6212

Publications Enquiries: 012 748 6052/6053/6058 GeneralEnquiries@gpw.gov.za

: 012 748 6061/6065 BookShop@gpw.gov.za Maps

Debtors : 012 748 6060/6056/6064 PublicationsDebtors@gpw.gov.za

Subscription: 012 748 6054/6055/6057 Subscriptions@gpw.gov.za

SCM : 012 748 6380/6373/6218

012 748 6236/6242 Debtors :

Creditors 012 748 6246/6274

Please consult our website at www.gpwonline.co.za for more contact details.

The numbers for our provincial offices in Polokwane, East London and Mmabatho will not change at this stage.

Printed by and obtainable from the Government Printer, Bosman Street, Private Bag X85, Pretoria, 0001 Publications: Tel: (012) 748 6052, 748 6053, 748 6058 Advertisements: Tel: (012) 748 6205, 748 6208, 748 6209, 748 6210, 748 6211

Subscriptions: Tel: (012) 748 6054, 748 6055, 748 6057

Gedruk deur en verkrygbaar by die Staatsdrukker, Bosmanstraat, Privaatsak X85, Pretoria, 0001 Publikasies: Tel: (012) 748 6052, 748 6053, 748 6058 Advertensies: Tel: (012) 748 6205, 748 6208, 748 6209, 748 6210, 748 6211

Subskripsies: Tel: (012) 748 6054, 748 6055, 748 6057