

#### **IMPORTANT NOTICE**

The Government Printing Works will not be held responsible for faxed documents not received due to errors on the fax machine or faxes received which are unclear or incomplete. Please be advised that an "OK" slip, received from a fax machine, will not be accepted as proof that documents were received by the GPW for printing. If documents are faxed to the GPW it will be the sender's responsibility to phone and confirm that the documents were received in good order.

Furthermore the Government Printing Works will also not be held responsible for cancellations and amendments which have not been done on original documents received from clients.

	CONTENTS • INHOUD		
No.		Page No.	Gazette No.
	GOVERNMENT NOTICE		
Basic E	ducation, Department of		
Governm	nent Notice		
713	General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance Act (58/2001): Appointment of persons to serve as members on the Fourth Umalusi Council for General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance for the period 8 June 2014 until 7 June 2018	•	37991

## **GOVERNMENT NOTICE**

### DEPARTMENT OF BASIC EDUCATION

No. 713

10 September 2014

GENERAL AND FURTHER EDUCATION AND TRAINING QUALITY ASSURANCE ACT, 2001 (ACT NO. 58 OF 2001)

# APPOINTMENT OF PERSONS TO SERVE AS MEMBERS ON THE FOURTH UMALUSI COUNCIL FOR GENERAL AND FURTHER EDUCATION AND TRAINING QUALITY ASSURANCE FOR THE PERIOD 8 JUNE 2014 UNTIL 7 JUNE 2018

I, Angelina Matsie Motshekga, Minister of Basic Education, have in terms of sections 6(1), 6(2) and 6(6) of the General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance Act, 2001 (Act No. 58 of 2001), appointed the following persons as members of the Fourth Umalusi Council for General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance for the period 8 June 2014 until 7 June 2018:

### 1. MEMBERS

1.1 **Members nominated** in accordance with the requirements as stipulated in section 6(3)(b) of the General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance Act, 2001 (Act No. 58 of 2001):

No	Member	Position
1.	Professor P Beets	School of Assessment at the University of Stellenbosch
2.	Ms F Dada	Consultant
3.	Professor D Kgwadi	Vice Chancellor of the North West University
4.	Professor G Mahlomaholo	Senior Research Professor at the University of the Free State
5.	Professor L Makalela	Head of Language at Wits School of Education
6.	Professor C Loock	Vice Dean of Education at the University of Johannesburg
7.	Professor M Mapasela	Dean of Academic Development Support at the University of the Free State
8.	Mr M Ehrenreich	President of the South African Principals' Society
9.	Prof. J Volmink	Extraordinary Professor in Mathematics Education at the North-West University

No	Member	Position
10.	Dr L Becker	Lecturer in English for education students at the University of Pretoria
11.	Dr R Mampane	Lecturer in Faculty of Educational Psychology at the University of Pretoria
12.	Mr HM Mweli	Acting Deputy Director-General at the Department of Basic Education
13.	Dr SNP Sishi	Superintendent-General: Education at the KwaZulu-Natal Education Department
14.	Dr EB Mahlobo	Chief Director at the Department of Higher Education and Training
15.	Professor A Ogude	Vice Chancellor of the Tshwane University of Technology

#### 2. CHAIRPERSON

Professor J. Volmink

### 3. CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

The Chief Executive Officer as an ex officio member: Dr MS Rakometsi.

MS AM MOTSHEKGA, MP MINISTER OF BASIC EDUCATION

Printed by and obtainable from the Government Printer, Bosman Street, Private Bag X85, Pretoria, 0001 Publications: Tel: (012) 748 6052, 748 6053, 748 6058 Advertisements: Tel: (012) 748 6205, 748 6208, 748 6209, 748 6210, 748 6211 Subscriptions: Tel: (012) 748 6054, 748 6055, 748 6057 Gedruk deur en verkrygbaar by die Staatsdrukker, Bosmanstraat, Privaatsak X85, Pretoria, 0001 Publikasies: Tel: (012) 748 6052, 748 6053, 748 6058 Advertensies: Tel: (012) 748 6205, 748 6209, 748 6210, 748 6211 Subskripsies: Tel: (012) 748 6054, 748 6055, 748 6057